Texas Governor Issues Disaster Declaration

Apr 18, 2019 | Archive News

Governor Greg Abbot declared a state of disaster following severe weather that began on April 12, 2019. The event included thunderstorms, and tornados, which caused severe property damage and loss of life. The nine counties included: Cherokee, Freestone, Houston, Leon, Madison, Nacogdoches, Robertson, San Augustine, and Shelby counties.

Pursuant to Section 418.017 of the Government Code, the Governor has authorized the use of all available resources to aid in response efforts. The Disaster Declaration was signed on April 17, 2019.