Gov. Abbott Issues Disaster Declaration in North Texas

Oct 22, 2019 | eNews

Following severe weather in North Texas beginning on Sunday, October 20, 2019, Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a disaster declaration for Cass, Cameron, Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Erath, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Panola, Rains, Rockwall, Rusk, Tarrant, Van Zandt and Wood counties. The declaration will allow the use of state resources to respond to the disaster.

A tornado touched down in Dallas on Sunday night, followed by a line of storms that brought hail, lightning, and high-speed winds to the area. The Insurance Council of Texas (ICT) found that more than 100 homes were damaged during the storms, along with dozens of vehicles.

ICT encourages policyholders to document the damage to their property and not to be pressured into signing contracts with contractors immediately after the damage occurred. ICT offers additional resources on what to do after a loss on its website.